Gluten Free Salsa List

Gluten Free Salsa List

Salsa is one of the best selling condiments in the US. Did you know salsa has surpassed ketchup sells?! I’m a huge salsa lover, so this is no surprise to me!

I know what you’re thinking… salsa has gluten? Really?! Well, many salsas are gluten free so that’s good news for all salsa fans! The issue with salsas that cause concern is that some contain vinegar which may have been distilled by gluten-containing grains. Some people are very sensitive even when the distillation process is used. If you’re one of these people, proceed with caution.

Amy’s Kitchen: According to their website: “The gluten free statement is expressly defined by the FDA as containing less than 20 parts per million of gluten. In other words, regardless whether the item was cooked in a facility that processes wheat, it may be labeled as gluten free provided that it has less than 20 ppm of gluten. For all of our gluten free items, we have numerous safeguards in place to assure that the items meet the FDA definition.”

  • Black Bean & Corn
  • Medium
  • Mild

Chi Chi’s: The parent company for Chi Chi’s is Hormel Foods, and according to their website: We are providing the following list of products as a general guideline for those presently produced and distributed in the United States with formulas that do not have gluten containing ingredients in the form of wheat, rye, oats, and barley. Although our products are labeled in compliance with government regulations, it is always necessary to read the labels on the products to determine if the food product meets your required needs.” In addition they discuss the vinegar used: “The following list of products may contain vinegar. This vinegar would normally be white distilled vinegar. Other types of vinegar are listed on the ingredient statement. While our sources indicate that these types of vinegar are gluten free, you will need to make your own determination on whether you want to use these products:”

  • Fiesta Salsa
  • Garden Salsa
  • Natural Salsa
  • Restaurante Salsa

Frontera: Gluten-Free products are labeled as “gluten-free”.

  • Salsa:
    • Chipotle
    • Corn & Poblano
    • Double Roasted Tomato
    • Guajillo
    • Jalapeno Cilantro
    • Mango Key Lime
    • Red Pepper & Garlic
    • Roasted Habanero
    • Roasted Tomato
    • Spanish Olive
    • Tomatillo
    • Salpica Salsa con Queso Natural Queso Dip
  • Salpica Natural Salsa:
    • Chipotle Garlic
    • Cilantro Green Olive
    • Grilled Pineapple Key Lime
    • Habanero Lime
    • Mango Peach
    • Roasted Corn & Bean
    • Rustic Tomato
    • Tomato Jalapeno

Herdez: The parent company for Herdez is Hormel Foods, and according to their website: “We are providing the following list of products as a general guideline for those presently produced and distributed in the United States with formulas that do not have gluten containing ingredients in the form of wheat, rye, oats, and barley. Although our products are labeled in compliance with government regulations, it is always necessary to read the labels on the products to determine if the food product meets your required needs.” In addition they discuss the vinegar used: “The following list of products may contain vinegar. This vinegar would normally be white distilled vinegar. Other types of vinegar are listed on the ingredient statement. While our sources indicate that these types of vinegar are gluten free, you will need to make your own determination on whether you want to use these products:”

  • Salsa Casera

La Victoria: The parent company for La Victoria is Hormel Foods, and according to their website: We are providing the following list of products as a general guideline for those presently produced and distributed in the United States with formulas that do not have gluten containing ingredients in the form of wheat, rye, oats, and barley. Although our products are labeled in compliance with government regulations, it is always necessary to read the labels on the products to determine if the food product meets your required needs.” In addition they discuss the vinegar used: “The following list of products may contain vinegar. This vinegar would normally be white distilled vinegar. Other types of vinegar are listed on the ingredient statement. While our sources indicate that these types of vinegar are gluten free, you will need to make your own determination on whether you want to use these products:”

  • Cilantro, Mild
  • Cilantro, Medium
  • Green Salsa Jalapeña, Extra Hot
  • Red Salsa Jalapeña, Extra Hot
  • Salsa Ranchera, Hot
  • SUPREMA™ Salsa, Mild
  • SUPREMA™ Salsa, Medium
  • Salsa Victoria, Hot
  • Thick ‘N Chunky, Mild
  • Thick ‘N Chunky, Hot
  • Thick ‘N Chunky Verde, Mild
  • Thick ‘N Chunky Verde, Medium

Newman’s Own: According to Newman’s Own Inc. allergen statement, “Newman’s Own complies with the FDA Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (Title II of Public Law 108-282). The Newman’s Own, Inc. policy concerning food allergens is as follows: If one or more of the major common allergens recognized by FDA are contained in a Newman’s Own product they will be listed in the ingredient statement regardless of the level and whether or not directly added to the product or contained in another ingredient . The composition of each ingredient will be reviewed for the presence of the major common food allergens recognized by FDA.”

  • Black Bean & Corn
  • Farmer’s Garden
  • Hot
  • Mango
  • Medium
  • Mild
  • Peach
  • Pineapple
  • Roasted Garlic
  • Tequila Lime
  • Salsa con Queso

On the Border: According to their website: All of our On The Border® retail products are gluten free. Our products must pass finished goods testing to meet FDA requirements for gluten-free labeling, and we prominently state “Gluten Free” on our packaging.”

Organicville: According to their website: Organicville’s salsas are USDA certified organic, gluten free, dairy free, vegan, and made with agave nectar.”

  • Hot Organic Salsa
  • Medium Organic Salsa
  • Pineapple Organic Salsa
  • Mild Organic Salsa

Ortega: The parent company for Ortega is B&G Foods Inc. and they no longer have a gluten free list, therefore they no longer call any of their salsas “gluten free”.

Pace: Pace is owned by the Campbell Soup Co. which states on their US Gluten Free Product List form, “Campbell has a strict two-step process for classifying a product as gluten-free. First, we verify all the ingredients are gluten-free, then we analyze the finished product to make sure it is also free from any gluten.”

  • Chunky Salsa – mild, medium and hot
  • Fire Roasted Tomato and Corn Restaurant Style Garden Pepper Restaurant Style
  • Garlic & Lime Verde Restaurant Style
  • Original Restaurant Style Salsa
  • Southwest Chipotle Restaurant Style

Sabra: According to the company: “All of Sabra’s products meet broad standards of gluten free content of < 20 ppm.”

  • Chunky Pico de Gallo
  • Garden Style  
  • Homestyle Medium
  • Homestyle Mild
  • Mango Peach
  • Restaurant Style
  • Roasted Garlic
  • Southwestern Style

Taco Bell:  Kraft Food, states “Please note our products are produced and labeled in compliance with the FDA.” So any product containing gluten will say so on the label. The products that do not contain gluten may be subject to cross-contamination during processing.

  • Ready to Heat Dip:
    • Medium Salsa con Queso
    • Mild Salsa con Queso
  • Thick ‘n Chunky Salsa:
    • Medium
    • Mild

Tostitos: According to the Frito-Lay North America Inc. gluten free product listproducts listed below do not contain wheat, rye, barley or oat ingredients (we include oats in this list as a precaution as oats are often commingled with gluten-containing grains).  Please note however, some of the products listed below may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten.  Although our lines are cleaned between production runs, Frito-Lay has not tested these products for gluten content and the ingredients in these products may have come into contact with gluten-containing products prior to manufacturing.  Individuals who are sensitive to gluten should take these factors into consideration in consuming these products.”

  • Cantina Salsa Verde Restaurant Style Salsa
  • Chipotle Restaurant Style Medium Salsa
  • Chunky Salsa – Hot  
  • Chunky Salsa – Medium
  • Chunky Salsa – Mild
  • Restaurant Style Salsa
  • Roasted Garlic Medium Chunky Salsa
  • Splash of Lime Flavored Mild Chunky Salsa

Wholly Salsa: According to their website: Neither our Wholly Guacamole or Wholly Salsa products contain allergens”. All their products say “gluten free” on the package.

  • Avocado Verde
  • Avocado, Black Bean & Roasted Corn
  • Classic Hot
  • Classic Medium
  • Classic Mild
  • Guacamole & Spicy Pico
  • Red Pepper Mango
  • Roasted Tomato

 

I hope you find this list helpful! Happy eating!

**This list is for the US. If you’re in another country, please contact the manufacturer first.

 

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...Share This:
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedinmail

6 comments

Leave a Reply