Gluten Free Alcohol List

gluten free alcohol list

When you’re following a strict gluten free diet, you not only need to be aware of what you can and can’t eat, but also which drinks you consume. Alcohol is something I find to be more on the difficult side when trying to determine what is and isn’t gluten free.

There is a big debate in the gluten free world regarding distilled alcohol. Most experts believe that distilled alcoholic beverages, even those made with gluten containing grains are safe to drink because all the gluten is removed during the distillation process. For me personally, I avoid all alcohol made with gluten containing grains, even those that have been distilled. It’s important that everyone does what works best for their body!

Here are some popular brands that are gluten free.

To see a complete list be sure to get The Gluten Free Alcohol Guide where you will find over 40 pages of alcohol categories, brands, flavors and mixers that are gluten free!

Gluten Free Beer (*Some of these brands are strictly gf and others offer gf options):

Gluten Free Hard Cider:

Gluten Free Vodka (I did not include gluten containing grains that have been distilled):

Gluten Free Tequila: When tequila is made the traditional way from a blue agave plant, it will be gluten free. In order to make sure your teguila is gluten free make sure the bottle says, “100% agave”.

Gluten Free Rum:

Wine and Champagne: Wine is made from grapes, so it’s considered gluten free. The only time wine can be a concern is when a wine sealant is used in wine barrels, and this can cause cross-contamination. Most wineries no longer use this wheat paste as a sealant, however if you’re concerned I recommend you call the winery.

Whiskey: Whiskey is made from gluten grains, however they’re distilled. As mentioned above, many people say the gluten is removed during the distillation process. Please drink with caution.

I get asked a lot about wine coolers. Wine coolers contain barley malt, so they’re not gluten free!

For a more detailed list, you can purchase the complete Gluten Free Alcohol Guide.

MsModify Gluten Free Alcohol Guide Cover

This is a complete guide listing categories, brands and flavors. I also explain some of the controversial issues to help you make safe decisions when choosing which ones to consume. Included in the guide are ten of my favorite cocktail recipes made with gluten free alcohol and mixers!

Cheers!

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...Share This:
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedinmail

47 comments

    • msmodify says:

      Could you tell the difference? It’s funny because I used to hate beer and now looking back I probably felt sick after so that’s why I didn’t like it!

      • Karen says:

        I don’t believe Jose Cuvero tequila is 100% agave. I believe they use wheat and it is not safe. Years ago there was an agave drought and they tried wheat so as not to lose production. It worked and was cheaper. I only heard about this after I drank it and it made me sick.

        • msmodify says:

          Hi Karen, I contacted Jose Cuvero directly and a spokesperson for the company confirmed that all their tequila is gluten free. I wonder if you got sick from something you mixed it with?

    • msmodify says:

      I’m not a big drinker so I had no clue gluten was in so many different types! I’m keeping this list for when I host parties!

  1. Mindy says:

    Omission Brewery in Oregon makes a wonderful gluten free beer. They have an I.P.A. and a lager, and both are delicious and taste like real, craft beer! Omission is brewed traditionally, but the do something to remove the gluten after brewing. I am starting to see it on more and more bar menus now, so you might see it, too. Give it a try you like beer. And thank you for this helpful list! Happy New Year!

  2. Shawn. says:

    I used to drink beers with the guy’s all the time going out and dinner but always preferred the girl’s drinks and sider beers. I was feeling bloated slowed down and never really injoying beer like i do captain vodka and cider beer. I just recently thought if i was having a reaction because my son has a wheat allergy. Thanks for the list ive saved it for future outings.

  3. George says:

    Great information, thank you 👍
    I diagnosed celiac disease three years ago.
    And had suspicious about some kind of alcohol, this list helps.

    • msmodify says:

      I’m glad you find it helpful! We are working on a much more in-depth list of gluten free alcohol and mixers. Sign up for email updates so you’ll know when it’s available!

    • msmodify says:

      I’ll look into these for you! I’m working on an eBook for gluten free alcohol, so I will be sure to include them. You should sign up for email notifications so you know when it’s available!

  4. Christy says:

    Thank you for this post. My body does not tolerate much sugar either – do you have suggestions to the option with the least amount of sugar? Thank you! 🙂

    • msmodify says:

      I’m glad you found it helpful! I believe clear alcohol like vodka and gin mixed with soda water and fresh lemon/lime are probably the lowest sugar alcoholic drinks, but if you get sick from sugar please consult your doctor first!

    • msmodify says:

      Gin is distilled from a mixture of grains which can include wheat, barley, rye and corn. As with all distilled spirits some experts claim that the gluten is removed in the distillation process, however it’s advised to proceed with caution when making your decision.

  5. Vickie says:

    Thanks for the list! I’ve had Queen Jennie’s whiskey and it was okay. I’ve a Maker’s Mark lover and only this year discovered my asymptomatic celiac disease. I had read that gluten was most likely removed in distillation but think that might not be true. I’ve been on a strict gluten free except for the Maker’s Mark. During a recent test, I was still positive for the celiac markers which leads me to believe its my dear Maker’s Mark. Boo! Just wanted others to know.

    • msmodify says:

      Thanks for sharing this info Vickie! Alcohol distilled from gluten-containing grains is a controversial issue that even experts disagree on. I personally avoid them, but I know some people that don’t have an issue with them.

  6. Elaine says:

    What about wines, both red and white. I’m not sure os all of the processes of making wines and they are predominately mDe from grapes although there are many other kinds of berry and fruit wines. Is there a possibility that gluten is present in any of the wine making processes?

    • msmodify says:

      Pure wine (red & white) is naturally gluten free since it’s made from grapes. I would avoid flavored wines that have added flavors in them, unless you know for certain they’re gluten free by calling the manufacturer. In regards to wheat paste being used to seal the wooden wine casks, if this process is used (many times now stainless steel tanks are used where this is not an issue) the amount of gluten that could enter the wine is so small (1 -2 parts per million or less) that it shouldn’t be an issue. If you are extremely sensitive or concerned about this, I would recommend calling the specific manufacturer and asking about their process.

    • msmodify says:

      Thanks Toni! I’m glad you find it helpful! Be sure to keep an eye out because I’m going to release an eBook that’s a complete gluten free alcohol manual. 🙂

    • msmodify says:

      Hi Mio! Gin is distilled from a mixture of grains which can include wheat, rye, barley and corn. As with all distilled spirits some experts claim that the gluten is removed in the distillation process, however it’s advised to proceed with caution when making your decision!

      • Vicki says:

        When I was searching in the liquor store yesterday, I came across ADK vodka and Gin. Both made from corn. I’m not sure if that means gluten free. I just assumed it did as Titos is. But after reading this, I’m not sure. I’m brand new to cutting out Gluten.

        • msmodify says:

          I haven’t heard of that brand, but if it’s made from only corn it should be gluten free. But I recommend you call the manufacturer just to be safe!

Leave a Reply