Gluten Free Alcohol List

gluten free alcohol list

When you’re following a strict gluten free diet, you not only need to be aware of what you can and can’t eat, but also which drinks you consume.

Alcohol is something I find to be more on the difficult side when trying to determine what is and isn’t gluten free.

There is a big debate in the gluten free world regarding distilled alcohol. Most experts believe that distilled alcoholic beverages, even those made with gluten containing grains are safe to drink because all the gluten is removed during the distillation process.

For me personally, I avoid all alcohol made with gluten containing grains, even those that have been distilled. It’s important that everyone does what works best for their body!

Here is a list of popular brands that are gluten free.

If you’re a beer drinker, be sure you know the difference between gluten free beer vs. gluten removed beer! If you have celiac disease, knowing the difference is very important and making safe selections is a big deal.

Gluten Free Alcohol LIst

Gluten Free Beer (*Some of these brands are strictly gf and others offer gf options):

Gluten Free Hard Cider:

Gluten Free Hard Seltzer:

Gluten Free Vodka (I did not include gluten containing grains that have been distilled):

Gluten Free Tequila: When tequila is made the traditional way from a blue agave plant, it will be gluten free. In order to make sure your tequila is gluten free make sure the bottle says, “100% agave”.

Gluten Free Rum: Rum is typically made from cane sugar, instead of grains, so it’s a safe gluten free choice. Just be careful when it comes to flavored rums.

Wine and Champagne: Wine is made from grapes, so it’s considered gluten free. The only time wine can be a concern is when a wine sealant is used in wine barrels, and this can cause cross-contamination. Most wineries no longer use this wheat paste as a sealant, however if you’re concerned I recommend you call the winery.

Whiskey: Whiskey is made from gluten grains, however they’re distilled. As mentioned above, many people say the gluten is removed during the distillation process. Please drink with caution.I get asked a lot about wine coolers. Wine coolers contain barley malt, so they’re not gluten free!


*Gluten Free Alcohol List updated 12/19


    • msmodify says:

      Could you tell the difference? It’s funny because I used to hate beer and now looking back I probably felt sick after so that’s why I didn’t like it!

      • Karen says:

        I don’t believe Jose Cuvero tequila is 100% agave. I believe they use wheat and it is not safe. Years ago there was an agave drought and they tried wheat so as not to lose production. It worked and was cheaper. I only heard about this after I drank it and it made me sick.

        • msmodify says:

          Hi Karen, I contacted Jose Cuvero directly and a spokesperson for the company confirmed that all their tequila is gluten free. I wonder if you got sick from something you mixed it with?

        • GF Husband says:

          My husband is 90% “Allergic” to wheat!
          Although not much of a drinker, but when he does have one at a celebration or family gathering, the alcohol choice he does drink that is 100% Glutten-Free:
          Jose’ Cuervo Tequila!
          On the other hand, “mixers” are not always Gluten-Free. For sure, it was the mixer they used in the drink that made you sick!

    • msmodify says:

      I’m not a big drinker so I had no clue gluten was in so many different types! I’m keeping this list for when I host parties!

  1. Mindy says:

    Omission Brewery in Oregon makes a wonderful gluten free beer. They have an I.P.A. and a lager, and both are delicious and taste like real, craft beer! Omission is brewed traditionally, but the do something to remove the gluten after brewing. I am starting to see it on more and more bar menus now, so you might see it, too. Give it a try you like beer. And thank you for this helpful list! Happy New Year!

    • msmodify says:

      I left this brand off the list since I’ve heard controversy about it being “gluten removed” and not “gluten free”. Have you ever felt sick from it? I’m going to contact them and see what they about it! Thanks for letting me know!

      • Michelle K says:

        I was first introduced to a beer called “Daura:” at a celiac convention. I was so excited to find this beer that tasted so good and was “crafted to remove gluten.” I went on a cruise that served this beer and was sick the whole week. I later learned that beers such as this (and omission) that are “crafted to remove gluten” are not safe for people with celiac disease.

    • Lori says:

      My husband has recently been diagnosed as celiac, though the expression is through his skin rather than gut. It’s callled dermatitis herpetiformis. It’s ugly and the blisters that form itch like heck. He tried Omission as he was an avid beer drinker, but could not tolerate. Hard ciders are his choice now.

      • Sarah says:

        Just an opinion based on my experience, but hoping to help. Beer is a definite bad idea, and even worse are the hard ciders; the chemicals added, colors and flavors react in the body just like an intense gluten reaction. If he likes drink he might be safer with a gluten free vodka like Tito’s and Tower brands. Good luck and if you have any questions, I have done self study for 15 years, but not certified in anything accept lots of valuable life experience. Hope this helps and hope your husband feels better soon.

    • Bethany says:

      Be careful with beers. If you have celiac, you may be sensitive to the hops as well and get just as sick. I suggest if you have any food allergies or sensitivities, STAY AWAY FROM ALL BEER FOR YOUR SAFETY!

  2. Shawn. says:

    I used to drink beers with the guy’s all the time going out and dinner but always preferred the girl’s drinks and sider beers. I was feeling bloated slowed down and never really injoying beer like i do captain vodka and cider beer. I just recently thought if i was having a reaction because my son has a wheat allergy. Thanks for the list ive saved it for future outings.

  3. George says:

    Great information, thank you 👍
    I diagnosed celiac disease three years ago.
    And had suspicious about some kind of alcohol, this list helps.

    • msmodify says:

      I’m glad you find it helpful! We are working on a much more in-depth list of gluten free alcohol and mixers. Sign up for email updates so you’ll know when it’s available!

    • msmodify says:

      I’ll look into these for you! I’m working on an eBook for gluten free alcohol, so I will be sure to include them. You should sign up for email notifications so you know when it’s available!

  4. Christy says:

    Thank you for this post. My body does not tolerate much sugar either – do you have suggestions to the option with the least amount of sugar? Thank you! 🙂

    • msmodify says:

      I’m glad you found it helpful! I believe clear alcohol like vodka and gin mixed with soda water and fresh lemon/lime are probably the lowest sugar alcoholic drinks, but if you get sick from sugar please consult your doctor first!

    • msmodify says:

      Gin is distilled from a mixture of grains which can include wheat, barley, rye and corn. As with all distilled spirits some experts claim that the gluten is removed in the distillation process, however it’s advised to proceed with caution when making your decision.

  5. Vickie says:

    Thanks for the list! I’ve had Queen Jennie’s whiskey and it was okay. I’ve a Maker’s Mark lover and only this year discovered my asymptomatic celiac disease. I had read that gluten was most likely removed in distillation but think that might not be true. I’ve been on a strict gluten free except for the Maker’s Mark. During a recent test, I was still positive for the celiac markers which leads me to believe its my dear Maker’s Mark. Boo! Just wanted others to know.

    • msmodify says:

      Thanks for sharing this info Vickie! Alcohol distilled from gluten-containing grains is a controversial issue that even experts disagree on. I personally avoid them, but I know some people that don’t have an issue with them.

  6. Elaine says:

    What about wines, both red and white. I’m not sure os all of the processes of making wines and they are predominately mDe from grapes although there are many other kinds of berry and fruit wines. Is there a possibility that gluten is present in any of the wine making processes?

    • msmodify says:

      Pure wine (red & white) is naturally gluten free since it’s made from grapes. I would avoid flavored wines that have added flavors in them, unless you know for certain they’re gluten free by calling the manufacturer. In regards to wheat paste being used to seal the wooden wine casks, if this process is used (many times now stainless steel tanks are used where this is not an issue) the amount of gluten that could enter the wine is so small (1 -2 parts per million or less) that it shouldn’t be an issue. If you are extremely sensitive or concerned about this, I would recommend calling the specific manufacturer and asking about their process.

    • msmodify says:

      Thanks Toni! I’m glad you find it helpful! Be sure to keep an eye out because I’m going to release an eBook that’s a complete gluten free alcohol manual. 🙂

    • msmodify says:

      Hi Mio! Gin is distilled from a mixture of grains which can include wheat, rye, barley and corn. As with all distilled spirits some experts claim that the gluten is removed in the distillation process, however it’s advised to proceed with caution when making your decision!

      • Vicki says:

        When I was searching in the liquor store yesterday, I came across ADK vodka and Gin. Both made from corn. I’m not sure if that means gluten free. I just assumed it did as Titos is. But after reading this, I’m not sure. I’m brand new to cutting out Gluten.

        • msmodify says:

          I haven’t heard of that brand, but if it’s made from only corn it should be gluten free. But I recommend you call the manufacturer just to be safe!

          • Sarah Bengel says:

            As far as I know, vodka could be made from potatoes, corn, or wheat. I usually drink Tito’s and Tower vodka because they are gluten free/not wheat. But remember that any flavor added to vodka will act the same as a gluten, so no special flavorings. S ^-^

  7. Sarah says:

    Tito’s works fo rme. I am gluten sensitive, not celiacs. My concern is preservatives! I love champagne, but have read that it has “potasium sorbate” which is pure evil to my stomach (severe bloaating). I have also read that most preservatives are essentially/derived from a gluten? Would you know if this is true? And do beers and wines have preservatives? As for wine, I seem to be better with “wood free” wines, that sadly are expensive, but are also lower in nitrates and nitrites that can cause heart palpitations in some people (like me) that are sensitive to that. Hoping for a suggestion/solution to the chanpagne thing!?!

    • msmodify says:

      Thanks for sharing that info! I think it depends on each person. For me personally, I’m really sensitive to gluten, so I get sick even if it’s been distilled.

  8. Caroline says:

    Just be careful to not use whether something does not make you sick as a determinant that something is free of gluten. Many coeliacs have no symptoms but there is still damage being done internally.

  9. Em says:

    Gluten sensitivity and/or Celiac disease can often be accompanied by a secondary reaction to yeast. This is an issue for me where alcohol is concerned. Beer in particular can take the gluten out, but the yeast stays strong! For those having issues with GF beers, you may want to look into it further.

  10. Suzanne says:

    Thanks. This is helpful. My husband always has his standard “captain and diet’ drink so that he knows it is GF but when we are traveling sometimes they have other brands and its hard to know what is and is not safe.

  11. Claire Danos says:

    Holidaily Brewing Company has amazing true gluten free beers! Not only light beers, but a pumpkin ale and a stout and an IPA along with other special rotating beers. they are the only certified dedicated, gluten-free brewing facility in the state of Colorado. That means not one gluten-containing ingredient enters their doors, so there is never a chance for cross contamination. They recently opened a larger canning facility and even have their beer in Natural Grocers and King Soopers(Kroger)

  12. Evan says:

    I use Smirnoff Vodka (non-flavored) due to Celiac. It is very good and much cheaper thanTower or Tito’s Vodkas.
    Thank you for posting this info it really helps!

  13. Brenda castagna says:

    Hi there gf people!!.i have just become gluten sensitive this info from all is very helpful.. I was interested in the eBook has that come out yet?? If so how do i find it.. Thanks. Brenda.

  14. Adriana says:

    Tres agaves tequila is also gluten free 🙂 (they confirm it on their site). Also, I’ve never had an issue drinking Cazul

  15. Jude says:

    I noticed you didn’t mention Ginger Beer. Crabbies make an alcoholic Ginger Beer and if you’re a fan of ginger then it’s perfectly acceptable. I used to love lager on a hot day now I have Ginger Beer😀

Leave a Reply to Suzanne Cancel reply