When you’re following a strict gluten free diet, you not only need to be aware of what you can and can’t eat, but also which drinks you consume.
Alcohol is something I find to be more on the difficult side when trying to determine what is and isn’t gluten free.
There is a big debate in the gluten free world regarding distilled alcohol. Most experts believe that distilled alcoholic beverages, even those made with gluten containing grains are safe to drink because all the gluten is removed during the distillation process.
For me personally, I avoid all alcohol made with gluten containing grains, even those that have been distilled. It’s important that everyone does what works best for their body!
Here is a list of popular brands that are gluten free.
If you’re a beer drinker, be sure you know the difference between gluten free beer vs. gluten removed beer! If you have celiac disease, knowing the difference is very important and making safe selections is a big deal.
Gluten Free Beer (*Some of these brands are strictly gf and others offer gf options):
Gluten Free Hard Cider:
- Ace Premium Ciders
- Angry Orchard
- Blue Mountain Cider Company
- Crispin Cider
- Holidaily Brewing Company
- JK’S Farmhouse Ciders
- Magners Irish Cider
Gluten Free Hard Seltzer:
Gluten Free Vodka (I did not include gluten containing grains that have been distilled):
- Blue Ice
- Snap Frost (Original)
- Crystal Head
- Deep Eddy
- Ocean Organic Vodka
- Pau Maui Hawaiian Vodka
- Rocket Vodka
- Smirnoff Vodka (non-flavored)
- Tito’s Vodka
Gluten Free Tequila: When tequila is made the traditional way from a blue agave plant, it will be gluten free. In order to make sure your tequila is gluten free make sure the bottle says, “100% agave”.
- 1519 Tequila
- 1800 Tequila
- Cabo Wabo
- Don Julio Tequila
- Herradura Tequila
- Jose Cuervo
- Suaza Tequila
Gluten Free Rum: Rum is typically made from cane sugar, instead of grains, so it’s a safe gluten free choice. Just be careful when it comes to flavored rums.
- Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
- Bacardi 8
- flavored rums
- Captain Morgan Rum (Parrot Bay flavored malt beverages are not gluten free)
- Cruzan Rum
- Malibu Rum
- Mount Gay Rum
Wine and Champagne: Wine is made from grapes, so it’s considered gluten free. The only time wine can be a concern is when a wine sealant is used in wine barrels, and this can cause cross-contamination. Most wineries no longer use this wheat paste as a sealant, however if you’re concerned I recommend you call the winery.
Whiskey: Whiskey is made from gluten grains, however they’re distilled. As mentioned above, many people say the gluten is removed during the distillation process. Please drink with caution.I get asked a lot about wine coolers. Wine coolers contain barley malt, so they’re not gluten free!
*Gluten Free Alcohol List updated 12/19
We recently had a gluten free beer and it was really good. They take the gluten out after sort of thing.
Could you tell the difference? It’s funny because I used to hate beer and now looking back I probably felt sick after so that’s why I didn’t like it!
I don’t believe Jose Cuvero tequila is 100% agave. I believe they use wheat and it is not safe. Years ago there was an agave drought and they tried wheat so as not to lose production. It worked and was cheaper. I only heard about this after I drank it and it made me sick.
Hi Karen, I contacted Jose Cuvero directly and a spokesperson for the company confirmed that all their tequila is gluten free. I wonder if you got sick from something you mixed it with?
Did it ever occur to you that you got sick from drinking too much tequila?. It’s been known to happen a time or two.
My husband is 90% “Allergic” to wheat!
Although not much of a drinker, but when he does have one at a celebration or family gathering, the alcohol choice he does drink that is 100% Glutten-Free:
Jose’ Cuervo Tequila!
On the other hand, “mixers” are not always Gluten-Free. For sure, it was the mixer they used in the drink that made you sick!
I don’t drink alcohol so I never have any idea what is gluten free and what isn’t. Definitely saving this for my friends!
I’m not a big drinker so I had no clue gluten was in so many different types! I’m keeping this list for when I host parties!
What about liquers?
What exact type are you looking for? I included some brandy and cognac. Let me know and I will find out!
Irish cream, kaluha, fruit liquers…
I’m working on a much more detailed list of gluten free alcohol and I will make sure to include those! Stay tuned for it!
The only one I like is peach schnopes. I’ve never gotten sick after drinking it so think is is ok, but don’t know for sure.
Can you tell me if jd has gluten in please x
Irish cream is made with whiskey. Whiskey is not tolerated by most gluten free persons. I look for chambord when I go out. Ice tea and chambord and real lime. No ice tea, I ask for club soda.
Its not that hard to make your own liqueurs. Just use a gluten free vodka and try some liqueur recipes. 😊
I cannot find the brandy list.
Omission Brewery in Oregon makes a wonderful gluten free beer. They have an I.P.A. and a lager, and both are delicious and taste like real, craft beer! Omission is brewed traditionally, but the do something to remove the gluten after brewing. I am starting to see it on more and more bar menus now, so you might see it, too. Give it a try you like beer. And thank you for this helpful list! Happy New Year!
I left this brand off the list since I’ve heard controversy about it being “gluten removed” and not “gluten free”. Have you ever felt sick from it? I’m going to contact them and see what they about it! Thanks for letting me know!
Omission doesn’t work for me.
Thanks for sharing this info! Does it make you feel sick from gluten?
It doesn’t bother me at all, but I am not Celiac’s, I just have a wheat/gluten sensitivity.
Thanks for letting me know!
I was first introduced to a beer called “Daura:” at a celiac convention. I was so excited to find this beer that tasted so good and was “crafted to remove gluten.” I went on a cruise that served this beer and was sick the whole week. I later learned that beers such as this (and omission) that are “crafted to remove gluten” are not safe for people with celiac disease.
It’s such a shame these companies that “remove gluten” market to individuals with celiac!
My husband has recently been diagnosed as celiac, though the expression is through his skin rather than gut. It’s callled dermatitis herpetiformis. It’s ugly and the blisters that form itch like heck. He tried Omission as he was an avid beer drinker, but could not tolerate. Hard ciders are his choice now.
Yes, Omission is not safe for people with celiac because it is gluten removed beer NOT gluten free beer!
Omission did make me sick
Just an opinion based on my experience, but hoping to help. Beer is a definite bad idea, and even worse are the hard ciders; the chemicals added, colors and flavors react in the body just like an intense gluten reaction. If he likes drink he might be safer with a gluten free vodka like Tito’s and Tower brands. Good luck and if you have any questions, I have done self study for 15 years, but not certified in anything accept lots of valuable life experience. Hope this helps and hope your husband feels better soon.
I am not a beer drinker but my gf brother likes Omission after trying many.I am gf too but strictly a wine drinker.
Thanks for letting me know Barbara! I prefer wine over beer too! 🙂
Be careful with beers. If you have celiac, you may be sensitive to the hops as well and get just as sick. I suggest if you have any food allergies or sensitivities, STAY AWAY FROM ALL BEER FOR YOUR SAFETY!
I used to drink beers with the guy’s all the time going out and dinner but always preferred the girl’s drinks and sider beers. I was feeling bloated slowed down and never really injoying beer like i do captain vodka and cider beer. I just recently thought if i was having a reaction because my son has a wheat allergy. Thanks for the list ive saved it for future outings.
You should discuss this with your doctor so you can find out. I’m glad you found this list helpful!
Great information, thank you 👍
I diagnosed celiac disease three years ago.
And had suspicious about some kind of alcohol, this list helps.
I’m glad you find it helpful! We are working on a much more in-depth list of gluten free alcohol and mixers. Sign up for email updates so you’ll know when it’s available!
Are any of the Dr. McGillicuddy’s gluten free? Ice Hole? Old Fashioned mixes?
I’ll look into these for you! I’m working on an eBook for gluten free alcohol, so I will be sure to include them. You should sign up for email notifications so you know when it’s available!
Thank you for this post. My body does not tolerate much sugar either – do you have suggestions to the option with the least amount of sugar? Thank you! 🙂
I’m glad you found it helpful! I believe clear alcohol like vodka and gin mixed with soda water and fresh lemon/lime are probably the lowest sugar alcoholic drinks, but if you get sick from sugar please consult your doctor first!
Is gin gluten free?
Gin is distilled from a mixture of grains which can include wheat, barley, rye and corn. As with all distilled spirits some experts claim that the gluten is removed in the distillation process, however it’s advised to proceed with caution when making your decision.
New Amsterdam vodka and gin are in my home bar and travel with me. The gin is mild. Before the New Amsterdam I drank Luksosowa polish potatoe vodka.
Thanks for sharing! 🙂
Thanks for the list! I’ve had Queen Jennie’s whiskey and it was okay. I’ve a Maker’s Mark lover and only this year discovered my asymptomatic celiac disease. I had read that gluten was most likely removed in distillation but think that might not be true. I’ve been on a strict gluten free except for the Maker’s Mark. During a recent test, I was still positive for the celiac markers which leads me to believe its my dear Maker’s Mark. Boo! Just wanted others to know.
Thanks for sharing this info Vickie! Alcohol distilled from gluten-containing grains is a controversial issue that even experts disagree on. I personally avoid them, but I know some people that don’t have an issue with them.
What about wines, both red and white. I’m not sure os all of the processes of making wines and they are predominately mDe from grapes although there are many other kinds of berry and fruit wines. Is there a possibility that gluten is present in any of the wine making processes?
Pure wine (red & white) is naturally gluten free since it’s made from grapes. I would avoid flavored wines that have added flavors in them, unless you know for certain they’re gluten free by calling the manufacturer. In regards to wheat paste being used to seal the wooden wine casks, if this process is used (many times now stainless steel tanks are used where this is not an issue) the amount of gluten that could enter the wine is so small (1 -2 parts per million or less) that it shouldn’t be an issue. If you are extremely sensitive or concerned about this, I would recommend calling the specific manufacturer and asking about their process.
Thanks for sharing this list and taking the time to put it together, ,, I will use it !
Thanks Toni! I’m glad you find it helpful! Be sure to keep an eye out because I’m going to release an eBook that’s a complete gluten free alcohol manual. 🙂
Thank you so much for this article.
You’re welcome! Stay tuned for a detailed Alcohol Guide eBook that I’m working on!
Do you have info on Gin?
Hi Mio! Gin is distilled from a mixture of grains which can include wheat, rye, barley and corn. As with all distilled spirits some experts claim that the gluten is removed in the distillation process, however it’s advised to proceed with caution when making your decision!
When I was searching in the liquor store yesterday, I came across ADK vodka and Gin. Both made from corn. I’m not sure if that means gluten free. I just assumed it did as Titos is. But after reading this, I’m not sure. I’m brand new to cutting out Gluten.
I haven’t heard of that brand, but if it’s made from only corn it should be gluten free. But I recommend you call the manufacturer just to be safe!
As far as I know, vodka could be made from potatoes, corn, or wheat. I usually drink Tito’s and Tower vodka because they are gluten free/not wheat. But remember that any flavor added to vodka will act the same as a gluten, so no special flavorings. S ^-^
Truly is also gluten free. It’s one of my summer favorites!
Thanks for letting us know!
Thanks for posting this. Bailey’s has come out with a gluten free version!! Called Bailey’s Almande
Thanks for letting me know! That’s great! 🙂
Tito’s works fo rme. I am gluten sensitive, not celiacs. My concern is preservatives! I love champagne, but have read that it has “potasium sorbate” which is pure evil to my stomach (severe bloaating). I have also read that most preservatives are essentially/derived from a gluten? Would you know if this is true? And do beers and wines have preservatives? As for wine, I seem to be better with “wood free” wines, that sadly are expensive, but are also lower in nitrates and nitrites that can cause heart palpitations in some people (like me) that are sensitive to that. Hoping for a suggestion/solution to the chanpagne thing!?!
Preservatives get me too. That means I have to cook most meals and then no bacon or most canned goods. ugh!!
I suffer from Celiacs, and I’ve never had a problem with whiskeys or bourbons as long as they’re marked “distilled”
Thanks for sharing that info! I think it depends on each person. For me personally, I’m really sensitive to gluten, so I get sick even if it’s been distilled.
What about sangria?
Downeast Cider should be on this list!!
I haven’t heard of that brand, I’ll check them out! Thanks for sharing, Jonlyn!