Gluten Free Valentine’s Day Candy List

It’s that time of year again for another gluten free candy list… this time for Valentine’s Day! Before you enjoy a treat from your valentine, be sure to know which candies are gluten free. 

The following candies are considered gluten free to less than 20 parts per million, according to the manufacturers, which makes them “gluten free”. 

I contacted many companies regarding gluten free valentine’s candy, and there appeared to be a theme… no one would provide me with a set list because “seasonal candy tends to change” and every company told me they clearly label gluten containing ingredients on their packages. With that being said, I only included candy where I spoke to a representative and they were able to tell me “yes it’s gluten free”. As always, I recommend reading labels and if you’re unsure call the manufacturer to be safe!

Brach’s Conversation Hearts:

According to Ferrara (the parent company that owns Brach’s) all conversation hearts are free of wheat, rye and barley. They are also produced in a facility that does not contain gluten.

It’s important to note that they are produced in a facility where products with milk, eggs, almonds, coconut, peanuts and soy are packaged (for those of you with other allergies).

Dove Chocolates:

Always check the label, as Mars Inc. will mention if major allergens are present in their products or if it “may contain” (chance of cross-contamination).

Gluten Free Options:

  •  dark and milk chocolate hearts
  • dark and white chocolate hearts
  • Dove milk chocolate candy hearts
  • Dove milk chocolate and red velvet swirl
  • caramel and milk chocolate

Not safe option:

  • Dove Milk Chocolate Truffles in a heart-shaped gift box- This includes a “may contain wheat” label

Hershey’s Kisses:

  • Plain milk chocolate kisses (in valentine’s day wrapping)

Filled Kisses options:

  • caramel
  • cherry cordial crème
  • dark chocolate with chocolate truffle
  • mint truffle
  • vanilla creme
  • ** chocolate truffle- NOT gluten free

Hershey’s Hearts- NOT on the gluten free list

Lava Cake Kisses- contains wheat

Junior Mints (Heart-Shaped):

Tootsie (the parent company) states all their products are gluten free- even seasonal ones. 

Lifesavers Candy ‘n Stickers:

  • Lifesaver candy and sticker packets


Always check the label, as Mars Inc. will mention if major allergens are present in their products or if it “may contain” (chance of cross-contamination).

  • conversation hearts
  • specialty colored M&Ms including red, pink, white, etc.
  • **pretzel M&Ms- contains wheat


Most are gluten free, but be sure you always read the package because it will say on it. Check the label to make sure it states “gluten-free” below the list of ingredients. Just Born (the parent company) states: “The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch.  However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.”

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups:

  • Original peanut butter cups
  • **heart shaped cups  and the minis are NOT considered gluten free

Reese’s are a little confusing when determining if they’re gluten free because some of their seasonal products are licensed and made by other manufacturers (those are not considered safe). Be sure to read labels when buying Reese’s products.

Starburst Candy ‘n Stickers and Jelly Beans:

All flavors and packaging are gluten free

Tootsie Rolls with Conversation Messages:

All tootsie roll products are gluten free except for Andes cookies

See’s Candy:

According to their website: “Candies produced in See’s Candies facilities do not contain gluten, and these products are the vast majority of those we sell. We purchase a small amount of specialty candies made by third parties, and these also do not contain gluten with the sole exception of Candy Canes sold in our retail shops and online at with wheat indicated on the Ingredient Statement of the Candy Canes.”


According to the company: “All Wholesome candy products are made without wheat on dedicated gluten free equipment making them suitable for people with celiac disease or following a gluten-free diet. We do random testing on finished product down to 5PPM for gluten. Wholesome Fruit Chews and DelishFish are certified gluten free and carry the GFCO symbol on the package.”

Yum Earth:  

The company states: “None of our products contain wheat or gluten. However, our organic Fruit Snacks, Organic Pomegranate Gummy Bears, Organic Licorice and Organic Sour Twists are manufactured in a facility that also manufactures products with gluten and wheat on shared processing equipment.” 

Valentine’s Day Candy NOT Gluten Free:

  • Butterfinger heart-shaped candies
  • Elmer chocolate boxes
  • Ghirardelli boxed chocolates
  • Lindt Lindor Truffles
  • Russell Stover boxed candy

Wishing you all a Happy Valentine’s Day!! xo

*This list is for the US. If you’re in another country, please contact the manufacturer first.

*This list was updated 2/2020


Leave a Reply